Uncertainty

The house is much, much quieter now. We’ve mastered the dropoff, the pickup, the waking up, the lunch making, the hair combing. We’ve figured out how to schedule bathtime, book time, bedtime. We listen to music, we talk about our day, we giggle and laugh. I get frustrated when I have to ask her seven times to please put on her shoes. She gets frustrated when I won’t let her have a snack ten minutes before dinner. We have a routine. We know each other. She thinks I can fix everything.

But yesterday she came home quiet, and said that S and S, her preferred school pals, didn’t want to play with her. “They said they were playing a game with just two. So they wouldn’t let me play. And that they didn’t want to be my friends today.” I wanted to hit something, to hold her tight, to play with her EVERY DAY and show her that those kids don’t matter.

But instead I just held her, and smoothed her hair, and read her a book. And that night, I cried in my bed, because someone hurt my baby’s feelings. I can’t believe it’s already starting.

5 Comments on “Uncertainty”

  1. Jennie says:

    I almost teared up for her! And this is the stuff they don’t tell you about at baby showers, geez. I hope she finds even better friends, Nat.

  2. Jenny says:

    Oh, sweet Georgia. One time a kid at a playground yelled, “get away from me, BABY!!” to Ryan, and I nearly came UNGLUED. She was way too young to notice or care, but it still hurt because I thought of all the times people would say mean things to her in her life. But I think you’re exactly right–part of our job is to love them and play with them every day. We can’t fix it all, but we can be the people in their lives who love them unconditionally.

  3. Awww that sucks! Sounds like you responded exactly the right way. She’s more resilient than you can know, and with you there to love her and hold her, she has all the support she needs to get through all of life’s little agonies.

  4. so, so rude. and so typical. damn school-aged kids.

  5. Erica says:

    Oh, this makes me so sad. Poor little thing. I am sure this day comes for all parents but, ah, sigh.


Leave a Reply

