Putting It Out There

So, something that also happened over my birthday weekend? BlogHer. I was not there, you see, not because I was dealing with various cracked limbs and the resulting situations that ensued, but because I just didn’t go. The thought was appealing… NYC is one of my very favorite cities on the planet and I would have loved to have been there for my birthday. But once I started marathon training and realized that I would be there in early November, it just didn’t make sense (financially or otherwise) to go. HOWEVER. I was there in spirit! Sort of!

The photo above is one that I submitted to the Kirtsy/BlogHer Voices of the Year 2010 Gala that took place the Friday night of BlogHer weekend. I was sent a written piece to illustrate, the gist of which was “it’s about a stance towards knowledge and doing” by the very cool and interesting badgerbag. I took about forty billion photos, trying to get the exact feeling I wanted, but this one? Was the VERY LAST photo I took over a period of two weeks. Seriously. I guess sometimes it doesn’t come easy, does it?

I’m really happy to have participated in the event… Jennie took a picture of it on display and sent it to me via twitter, which made me ridiculously happy. It was the one thing that could have cheered me up as we were at home the night of Adele’s accident, rigging up a weird crib-sling-sleeping arrangement for her. That picture made my night and thank you, Jennie, for redeeming my birthday.

This is, I hope, the first of many times I get to put my photos out there. And while I wish I could have seen it in person, it’s enough for me to know that I made the leap and said “Can I be a part of this?” And it’s even better to know that someone reached out to me and said “Absolutely.” Thanks, ladies of Kirtsy. It was a pleasure.

One Comment on “Putting It Out There”

  1. Jennie says:

    Natalie, you should have seen me and Jonna taking that picture. We were telling everyone around us, we were so proud of you. And your photo was right next to Laurie’s, another SL writer, and we were just BEAMING! Our girls! Look at them go!

    (I adore you. You’re so talented.)


Leave a Reply

