age ain’t nothin’ but a number

WELL. Usually I would just say “hey! haven’t written! nothing to see here!” but GOOD LORD. These past two weeks have been nothing short of insane. First (and of least importance, really) I turned 32. 32, I feel, is a rather anticlimactic age. I sort of think that 33 and 34 will be much the same, and then 35 will be a sort of wallop-in-the-face-my-god-I’m-THIRTYFIVE sort of situation. In any case, I didn’t have huge expectations for my birthday, but I was looking forward to a day of nothing in particular, and then a dinner out with my girlfriends. Celebratory, yet under the radar. And you know how it was spent instead?

AT THE EMERGENCY ROOM. Which was, needless to say, the opposite of where I had hoped to spend my birthday.

Adele jumped out of her crib and broke her leg. That’s right. Jumped. Or, flung one leg over, got it stuck, and then fell out, breaking both the bones in her right shin on the way down. I’ll spare you a description of the visual, but let’s just say it was horrible. And bendy in a way no leg should ever bend. I had thought she was asleep, as is customary at naptime… she had been put in her crib about a half hour before, and was completely quiet. So I assumed (and you know what happens when we assume, kids) that she was asleep. The thump and wail combo that brought me skidding in to the girls’ room proved otherwise, obviously. I took her to the children’s hospital, which is thankfully about five minutes from our house, and Casey met us there. Adele was SUCH a trooper; she cried for awhile but then they splinted her (tiny) leg and then put the bones back in place and she was good to go. This is clearly a highly simplified version of that day, but believe me, you don’t want to hear about anesthesia and bone placement and a child denied food or drink for something like 8 hours. The simplified version is that she’s going to be fine, and that her leg should heal just fine, and that I’m now only going to live until I’m 85 instead of 95 because the whole ordeal seriously took ten years off my life. The End.

ps- she looks cute in her cast.

purple cast

_DSC0110

4 Comments on “age ain’t nothin’ but a number”

  1. Manda says:

    Lord woman I didn’t know the broken leg happened on your BIRTHDAY! how awful! and memorable!

  2. Goodness gracious, she is so cute! I think the silver lining in all of this is that she is too young to remember it later on. My MIL signed my BIL to go to his day care’s field trip to a skating rink when he was maybe 8 or 10 or something, and he went on and on and on about how he didn’t want to go to the skating rink, please don’t make him go! But she did, and he went, and he fell and broke his arm. She has still not lived that one down, and he’s 15 now!

  3. 32? Gah! I’ll be 35 in February. YIKES!

    Hey, thanks so much for visiting and commenting! 🙂

    I’ll add you to my reader and get to know ya!

    xo,

    V.W.
    http://www.bird-on-a-line.com

  4. Shelly in Austin says:

    I know just catching up on my blog reading. How is she doing, poor baby? My five year old son broke his femur this summer. I can attest to the horrors of anesthesia, no food or water for hours (we couldn’t have surgery until the next morning!), and the loss of 10 years off your life. God, it was a terrifying experience. I’m still on edge, but he is good as new 12 weeks later. Those kids, they do heal quickly!


Leave a Reply

