just an average evening

SO. You’re sitting at home one night, on your couch, having a nice chewy brownie and listening to your best childhood friend catch you up on what’s been happening in her life (such get-togethers happen way too infrequently when one of you has two kids under four and the other is a late-night drag performer… schedules don’t really mesh. True story, by the way… probably a post for another day.) Anyway, we were enjoying our treats when suddenly there was a knock on the door. Let’s keep in mind that it was about 9:30 at night, so, therefore, not prime visiting hours. It was even too late for those alarm system companies that sometimes stop by to ask about “just putting a sign in (our) yard and you’ll get a free alarm system! aftermailinrebate/payingoutthewazoo/sellusyoursoul/totallynocommitmenttreally!”
Completely confused, I answered the door, only to be met by the sight of an extremely jumpy little guy who looked kind of like DJ Qualls. He proceeded (as his truck idled in front of my house) to try to sell me some seafood! Or steaks! Whatever I wanted! Out of the back of his truck!

Do people seriously do this? And do people actually BUY said truck-food? I was so confused that I just mumbled something unintelligible and closed the front door. Normally I’m the kind of person who hears out a spiel in its entirety; I will listen to anything anyone has to say because I’m too afraid of hurting people’s feelings.  I’ve even gone so far as to say to one of those alarm installers, “Sure! Sounds wonderful! Let me take a card and I’ll talk with my husband about it when he gets home!” (Then I make Casey be the bad guy. We’re a good team.)

So after I closed the door, I started feeling guilty, of course. How sad is it that this man’s job is to drive around and try to get people to buy food out of the back of his truck?

Still. I think I made the right decision.

3 Comments on “just an average evening”

  1. Sahara says:

    Well, I have never heard of these dudes going door-to-door, but I have bought fish off the back of a truck. Up in these parts the local tribes get fishing special fishing rights. So the guys go out and fish and then sell the catch out of their trucks. Sometimes they are at a farmer’s market, but sometimes they are just by the side of the road, like a vegetable stand. People also do that with honey and jerky and whatever else they’ve got. I’m not saying it isn’t weird, but we haven’t gotten any bad stuff yet–this stuff is super fresh and, y’know, it’s pretty damned easy to tell when fish has gone off.

    • flipandglib says:

      See, THAT makes sense to me! I’ve done that on beach vacations as well… but I live in Austin, here, and there isn’t really any decent seafood in the near vicinity. Therefore, SUSPICION.

  2. hannah says:

    Ok, so seriously??? THIS JUST HAPPENED TWO MINUTES AGO TO ME. I had never heard of it, read your post, thought, “ha ha,” and then two hours later, the doorbell rang. I assumed it was kids selling magazines but no. “Hey, do you guys like meat? I’ve got some steaks and stuff…” and he pointed to his pickup truck with a refrigerated looking case in the back. WTF. W.T.F., is all I have to say.

    (Also, if you don’t mind, please write up a nice blog post about us winning the lottery. And/or landing super sweet new jobs in Austin. Thanks!)


Leave a Reply

