Imitation is Flattery. Or Something.

I read SO MANY BLOGS. I went on vacation last week and when I came back my Google reader was so choked that my eyes rolled back in my head and I just hit “mark all as read” and then went to my bookmarks so I that I could read each one slowly and not feel overwhelmed. I don’t like to skim, either, so I know that would have happened had I just tried to whittle down the ol’ reader.

In realizing the sheer volume of words out there on the internet, I realized that it’s nearly impossible to not be influenced by all the other writers out there. Not necessarily the topics (I can talk about baby poop – inthetubbleccchhhh- and parenting just as anyone else can) but in the way they’re written. I do things that many bloggers do (write in caps to make a point – ex: the very first sentence of this post) and I’m not sure when I started doing that. I do it in emails, on Twitter, and sometimes when I talk I can picture what’s being said IN CAPS. Hm.

I’m not sure where I’m going with this exactly, but I read so many blogs and saw so many great women creating meaningful online dialogues with others that I wanted to join in. Is that weird? Is it weird to want to connect with people I don’t know in real life and probably won’t meet? If you blog, why do you blog?

4 Comments on “Imitation is Flattery. Or Something.”

  1. Jennie says:

    As my husband said when I told him some people think I’m weird for blogging: “Well, you are weird, babe, but I knew that’s what I was getting into.” It’s unconventional, new, weird (loosely defined) but I like to think the most beautiful things in our life started out being weird (relationships, jobs, new homes). Yeah, it’s weird. Thank god.

  2. Sahara says:

    I don’t think it’s at all weird that you started blogging so that you could join in on all this great conversation. I started up my blog for the exact same reason. I decided to keep the blog sort of a secret, not telling my close friends and family about it so that I could occasionally air some of my thoughts that I don’t feel comfortable talking to them about. It’s nice to be anonymous but among friends sometimes.

    I, too, feel very self-conscious about how my writing is so very derivative. I have completely absorbed the habits you mentioned, but feel like I will be called out because they are not of my invention. So I promise not to fault you for it if you don’t call me on it. 🙂

  3. barbetti says:

    It’s SO not weird wanting to make connections with other people via blogging. I honestly didn’t believe I’d EVER meet anyone from online due to my crippling social anxiety, but what do you know, I went to last year’s Blathering and had an AMAZING time.

    Plus, some of my best friends are bloggers I’ve known for six years and have never met. My conversations with them rival any if my “real-life” friends.

  4. The trick is to try to make it your own. Everyone has pretty much the same daily stories, it’s all in how you spin it.

    I write online because it’s easier for me. And because I like the comments.


Leave a Reply

