Looking Ahead Can Strain Your Eyes

So 2009 was kind of a crap year for my family, and we’re hoping that 2010 will be a lot better. Sincerely, positively, crossed-fingers and toes-kind-of-hoping. I’m not really one to want to know the future – I’ve never wanted my tarot cards read or my fortune told and though I want to die quietly as I sleep in my bed someday, I would like to emphasize the someday part of that and would choose to not know the when or where if given the option. In the vein of hoping for a better year, I think I need to take some positive steps towards making it my responsibility to ensure that we go into 2010 on the upswing.

I’m not big on resolutions, for the most part, because I hate quitting and I think that it’s nearly impossible to keep hard and fast rules that we make for ourselves. I do think that I can make and keep to some general guidelines, though, and I’m going to try to make things more positive in the ways I partner and parent. I also want to make improvements to my personal attitude and effort, and to make some progress towards figuring out what it is I want to do when I grow up.

Without further ado: THINGS I WANT TO DO IN 2010

  • start a little business (more on this later)
  • be as patient as possible with my children
  • write more (here and other places)
  • be more creative
  • go on dates with my husband (we’re really bad at this)
  • stop procrastinating (without a doubt, this one will not be kept because it’s so nebulous and I make it EVERY YEAR)

That’s a small start. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

