Things My Husband Would Change About Me (if he could)

I have a few quirks that make my husband insane. I’m sure that he would claim to love these traits! They make me me! He loves me just as I am! (Thank you, darling.) I know these make him nuts, not because he tells me, but because I can tell by his reactions when these things happen. I have a habit of leaving my shoes wherever I take them off… at the moment, my slippers are next to the bed, my running shoes are right by the back door (artfully placed for maximum falling-over potential), my non-running running shoes for schlepping children around are in the bathroom, which, as previously mentioned, barely has room for a wall holder for toilet paper, let alone an extra pair of shoes. I KNOW this drives him crazy, so why do I do it? Not maliciously, I assure you… it’s just a mystery.

A bigger thing that drives him crazy is my love of (and consequent stockpiling of) products. By products I mean the lotion, shampoo, conditioner, face wash, moisturizer, exfoliant, et cetera, et cetera that help to make us lovely ladies so, um, naturally beautiful. The weird thing is, I’m not much of a makeup person. I can go weeks without remembering to put on mascara, I wear clearish beigeish pinkish lip gloss daily (though I have many colors that are similar to each other, I can tell them all apart) and, as I specified earlier, I chase children professionally. My point is, it’s not like I need to look like the paparazzi are chasing me every time I leave the house. So why all the products? I don’t know! But I love them, they smell nice, and it’s the little things, right? I mean, my vices COULD run to the $400 handbag and shoe variety, but they don’t. So I feel that it could be much, much worse.

I do feel that I could work harder at controlling the issues that cause C to narrow his eyes at me (and yet say nothing, because we’re non-confrontational like that), so I’ve decided that 2010 will be the Year of Controlling My Natural Instincts. Join me, won’t you?

Leave a Reply

