That Damn Christmas Shoes Song is Back

It’s two days post-Thanksgiving. There is still turkey to be eaten, cranberry sauce to congeal unappealingly in the back of the fridge, and stains to be removed from the tablecloth. There are still “hand turkeys” – hm, that sounds a little dirty – to be found decorating multiple surfaces in my house. There are pilgrim hats being worn,and fall leaves swirling, and yet today I got in the car and the radio was playing that ridiculous song about the child who was buying the beautiful shoes for his mother who is ABOUT TO DIE and he wants her to look beautiful for Jesus.

I’m sorry, but I am not on board with this song. I loathe it with every fiber of my being. And I feel like it gets played about a billion times more than any other song around this time of year because I swear I hear it every time I’m in the car (I don’t really listen to the radio at all besides when I’m driving). But the worst part is that it is SUCH an earworm. If I hear it once, it’s in my head for the rest of the day. Just what I need. It’s not even December yet, for frick’s sake.

Ah, the Christmas spirit. I have it, can’t you tell?

Leave a Reply

