I Never Said I Was a Professional

Since my foray into staying at home with small A has begun, I’ve learned a few things here and there. One, I am crap at multitasking. I do things like start the washer, add the detergent, and then head back to sort the laundry. On the way back to the washer, I notice that the dishtowels hanging by the oven look dingy and decide to toss those in too, which causes me to put down the laundry basket. With my now-free hands, I grab the dish towels, but notice that the top of my stove could use a scrub. I wipe down the stovetop with the towels, then decide that won’t cut the mustard (I love that expression –  and there isn’t actual mustard on my stovetop as I don’t like mustard and would never cook with it EVER, ew) and so drop the towels in order to get the degreaser-spray-thingie. I degrease the top of the stove, stand back to admire my handiwork and then think “Well, heck, why not wipe down the stove front and also the fridge while I’m at it?” And before I know it, the washer has reached the water line and shuts off, leaving a washer full of warm water/detergent which slowly goes cold as I degrease my kitchen. To conclude, me = not a multitasker.

I’ve also learned that it is possible to be at home for an ENTIRE day and have nothing to show for it but a breathing child (which is the goal, obviously… I just mean that sometimes that’s all that gets done). I get ready to pick up G from school, look around the house and wonder (sometimes aloud) what on earth I just spent 7 hours doing, besides convincing A to nap and eat.

At some point, I know that I’m going to have to decide what I want to be when I grow up. I’m a wife and a mom and I love those roles. But I think that at some point, my bosses may realize that I’ve reached my full potential and that I’ll need to branch out. What to do then?

Leave a Reply

