Ch-ch-ch-changes

So I, uh… I got a job. I’ve been at home for three years, essentially; I worked full-time while Georgia was little and then left my job when Adele was born (2 kids at full-time daycare + one nonprofit salary = you do the math) and I wanted to do that, anyway. So I had a wonderful three years at home, spending time with Adele and being able to pick Georgia up from preschool at 3 every day. We did music classes, we had playdates, I did photography on weekends, and it worked really well for us. At the beginning of this year, though, we sat down and looked really hard at our budget and it was just time for me to go back. We’ve made a lot of sacrifices over these past few years to keep me at home, and while it worked and was FINE, it was time to make the big change and for me to go back to work.

Georgia is in kindergarten now at an amazing school downtown (we love it and she loves it) and Adele is going to the same preschool where Georgia went at her age. Both schools have an afterschool option; Georgia takes Spanish at hers, and A has SPanish and music classes. Truly, we’re so lucky to have options that we’re happy with and that make both girls comfortable. It’s win/win. Well, except for the guilt. Because how can there not be mom guilt involved in all this?

My second week of work (last week) both girls got horribly ill. Ear infections, bronchial infections, antibiotics… the works. And both of them are normally fairly healthy, as it happens; I can’t remember the last time that they were both sick, especially at the same time. But of course, since it was my second week, I really felt like I couldn’t call in sick, so Casey took take two and a half days off work. I took a half day that third day so I could give Casey time to get to his office, and I felt rotten that I couldn’t be at home when my girls both wanted me there. But I also didn’t want my boss to think that I’m going to be the kind of employee who hops off at a moment’s notice, so… you know. Lose/lose situation here. My boss was very understanding and couldn’t have been nicer about it, but you know how it is. SECOND WEEK OF WORK.

In any case, I think the job is a good fit for me, and for my family. It’s pretty flexible, so that’s a good thing, and the people I work with are incredibly nice. It’s a small team, and that’s a nice thing, too. I think the girls are adjusting well (G better than A, understandably) and we’re still managing to eat dinner all together every night and get the girls to bed at a reasonable hour. It’s a little crazy, but I’m sure we can make it work.

Speaking of dinner, I’d like to ask you all a few questions about your dinner routines. Until I started work, I cooked every night. Not an exaggeration; I cooked dinner EVERY NIGHT. We rarely eat out; by rarely, I mean maybe once every two months, and that includes getting takeout or pizza or anything. I cooked every weeknight and usually Saturday, and Casey cooked on Sundays (his meals are way better than mine, btw, because he uses a cookbook and goes out to get the fancy ingredients and I’m all “hey! chicken and broccoli stir-fry and a salad! Enjoy!”) Nowadays, Casey gets home before I do and starts the dinner; last night he cooked pounded breaded pork chops and pasta and garlic-sauteed spinach. I am totally ok with this, by the way. I have no problem with being the cleaner-upper (we have a deal – – whoever cooks doesn’t do the clean up) and it seems to be working well so far. So, in your house, how does your family do dinner? Do you take turns cooking? Do takeout? Do crock-pot cooking? Do you eat all together or feed the kids first? Share the secrets, ya’ll.

8 Comments on “Ch-ch-ch-changes”

  1. Jesabes says:

    My husband also gets home from work before me and makes dinner. I walk in the door to dinner on the table. I don’t work Fridays, so that’s my day to make dinner. Saturday my husband usually makes lunch and we either do something really easy (pre-packaged stir fry) or takeout for dinner. Sunday is leftovers. We share kitchen cleanup about equally and I do all the laundry. He likes cooking, I love laundry. It works for us.

    I hope everyone adjusts to your new schedule (and stays healthy!) and things continue to go well!

  2. Since Chris works nights, he is home during the day (sleeping mostly). He usually starts dinner after he picks the kids up from school so that it is ready or close to ready by the time I get home. Otherwise we would eat at 8 when it’s time for him to leave. I do more of the cooking on the weekends. We rely heavily on casseroles and crock pot meals because they are easy and tend to make enough for leftovers so we only have to cook a fresh meal every other night. It’s nice to do it this way so we can all have dinner together. I have even taken to putting Jackson in his high chair at the table so he is sitting with us and sometimes eating while we do.

  3. Congrats on the new gig, which I may (?) have already said on Twitter.

    As for dinner, we usually just cook together when we get home. If we know what we’re making (i.e.: if we meal plan…rarely) then whoever is home first starts cooking, if it’s something that will take some time.

    We do a lot of crock-pot stuff (carnitas, chicken tortilla soup, chili, etc.) and a lot of salads that just need assembling.

    LG goes to bed at like 6:30pm (HOW?! Also, SAD. I get like no time with the girl during the week.) Anyway! So we usually eat after she goes to bed.

  4. K says:

    New routines AND sick kids can be such a doozy. Sorry you had both all at once.

    As for dinner, I meal plan for the week ahead and then grocery shop on the weekend. Our dinners are simple and usually take under 15 minutes to get together as we are usually home by 5:30pm and then head upstairs for baths and bed by 6:30pm. The kids eat first as they’re usually starving and I’ll sit with them and snack (T gets home later), but T and I usually eat after they go to bed at 7 or 7:30pm.

    T, Ezra and Iris will usually eat out on the night I work late (Wednesdays) and then as a family we’ll usually eat out once or twice on the weekend. They do great in restaurants and I really, really hate cooking. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.